30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 4

“A blogger friend I’ve known for over five years told me she has been blogging anonymously all t his time and most of what I know about her is her fantasy.  My reaction to the news is…”

Obviously, as I’m new to this blogging thing, this isn’t a viable scenario for me for another four years and nine months! I’ve had to think long and hard about my personality and how I think.

I’d be so utterly confused. My emotions would probably ran the gamut, from surprised to horrified to curious. I know what I’m like, I think I’d go back and probably read through any correspondence, check any comments go through her archives and try and determine what has shades of truth to it and what is a fantasy.Whether the facts were lies but the opinions were truth – that would make a big difference to me.

Then I’d start grilling her (WAIT! IS IT A HER??? Or have a been commiserating with Barry from Long Island who still lives in his mum’s basement? (Not that there’s anything wrong with that life choice.)).

I’d want to know why she wanted to be different, whether her real life was something she wanted to hide or escape from or whether the fantasy just complimented it.

Most importantly, I’d want to know 5 years worth of real stuff! I’d want to know as much as they’d let me about their lives so that I could make up my mind again about the online friendship.

I know what I’m like – I couldn’t cut them out or anything like that – but there’d definitely be a shift in the dynamic, you know, to me hounding them with questions about what was real and what wasn’t.

4 comments

  1. TemptingSweets99

    LOL! You’re funny. I think you DO have some valid questions for her about the why and what, etc…

  2. Tom Baker

    Five years is a long time to do anything. All of your points are valid and there must be a ton of questions she would want to answer if she came clean.

Leave a Reply

