Merry May 28: Staying focused

  1. One thing that made me happy – Yoga! It actually did 🙂 I was so happy with it!
  2. One thing I’m grateful for Coming home to a fabulous dinner and lots of cuddles.
  3. One thing I did for someone else – Reciprocated the cuddles!

The second yoga class was great! Very challenging for me, with lots of totally different moves.

It’s interesting, because I struggle with staying in the moment a lot. I find that I imagine myself (this is going to sound a little weird) describing what’s happening instead of just enjoying it. I think of how I would tell my friends about it, imagine our conversations about what’s happening, or I imagine writing about it here.

AM I THE ONLY PERSON WHO DOES THIS? Oh God. I am, aren’t I? I’m a weirdooooOOOoooo (Yes, that’s currently being sung in my head to the Radiohead tune)

So rather than experiencing something as much as I should, I immediately want to share it, or at least think about how I would go about sharing it. I’d really like to become better at immersing myself in my experiences rather than dissecting them from the perspective of a story teller.

Last night instead of focusing on my breathing and how my body felt, my mind kept wandering and I kept splitting my attention between imagined future conversations and yoga – I was a little disappointed with that, really. I suspect that’s part of my procrastination problem! 🙂 I always split my attention several different ways.  Audiobooks, television on in the background, conversations, multiple websites. It’s very hard to concentrate and unfortunately I really have to concentrate to work to the best of my ability this year.

Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo the moral of the story is: I’m going to be trying some introduction to meditation classes.

I’m hoping that that will have some major long term benefits!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

